Patient Reviews

Our award-winning, fellowship-trained, board-certified ophthalmologist surgeon, Dr. Russell Swan wants to inspire your confidence in choosing Vance Thompson Vision for your eye care or sight-saving surgery. In this testimonial and review section, we hope you will take the time to read through our current and former patient reviews for Dr. Russell Swan before making your first consultation appointment. Learn more about cataract removal surgeries, LASIK vision correction, corneal implants, and glaucoma treatments from patients who had it performed at our facility in Bozeman, MT.

Filter12 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 25, 2020

The entire staff made me feel welcomed, safe, and informed. I knew what the LASIK procedure would be like ahead of time, so I didn’t ask too many questions, but if I had had them they would have been readily answered. Dr. Swan reached out to me personally via text after the procedure and answered any follow-up questions I had with professionalism and sincerity. It was all so easy and quick that I feel like I didn’t even get a chance to thank everyone properly. Dr. Swan, you are fantastic, and to all the rest who I can’t recall (I’m terrible with names but there’s a Madison that prefers Maddy/Maddie in there somewhere), I thank you from the bottom of my heart. To all others reading this review: these people know what they are doing, and they will take good care of you. And I now have slightly better-than 20-15 vision, so if you’re asking yourself if it’s worth it... it is. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 25, 2020

I recently got LASIK surgery with Dr. Swan and have nothing but great things to say about the entire staff. Everyone was so professional and welcoming. Dr. Swan was incredibly reassuring and talked me through the entire procedure. I would highly recommend Vance Thompson. I can’t believe how quick the results were obtained! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 03, 2020

I had LASIK this morning and so far, so good. Dr. Swan, Bree, Amanda, Jeanette....every person I encountered here was professional and friendly. The procedure itself was quick and painless. Im already seeing better than I ever did without glasses and tomorrow it's supposed to be even clearer. I'm very excited and pleased. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 18, 2020

I had Lasik eye surgery one week ago and it is fantastic! All of the staff at Vance Thompson Vision were so nice to work with and made the whole process so easy. Dr. Swan is so kind and truly cares about his patients. He spends as much time as he needs to to answer all of your questions and make you feel comfortable. I would definitely recommend Vance Thompson Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 14, 2019

Absolutley outstanding service! They were exceptionally kind, clean, knowledgeable, and more comforting than any eye care business I have been to in my 5 years living in Montana (and I have been to dozens). If I choose to move forward with Lasik Dr. Russell Swan at Vance Thompson will be my choice hands down! Thank You More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 13, 2019

Dr. Swan and his colleagues have been nothing but helpfull and encouraging. I have a very significant astigmatism and they've taken the time to make sure I knew what I may expect after the procedure and what the success rate generally is for a astigmatism of my level. They've taken the time to give me a second check up to verify some results, which assures me that the team is doing everything they can to make sure my lasik goes problem free. As of currently, there's no one else in Bozeman that I could recommend for better service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 01, 2019

Dr swan, Kim, Susan and others were all amazing. Superior friendly & knowledgeable staff. Took me through the whole process guiding, answering any questions or concerns. Dr Swan put me right at ease from the moment he entered the exam room, greeted me with a firm handshake and welcoming smile. I was nervous about having cataract surgery because I hate anything in my eyes. Everyone assured me they would make me comfortable and they did. I couldn't be any happier with the results. For the first time in nearly 60 years I can see without glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 23, 2019

I had a PRK surgery done here and had THE best experience! Every staff member is extremely caring, professional, and knowledgeable and they go above and beyond! Dr. Swan texted me the night after my surgery to make sure I was doing ok and answered my questions. They have been very good about working with me as I don’t live in Bozeman and had to travel for my appointments and surgery. When you choose Vance Thompson Vision, you are choosing the best care! Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 22, 2019

Dr swan, Kim, Susan and others were all amazing. Superior friendly & knowledgeable staff. Took me through the whole process guiding, answering any questions or concerns. Dr Swan put me right at ease from the moment he entered the exam room, greeted me with a firm handshake and welcoming smile. I was nervous about having cataract surgery because I hate anything in my eyes. Everyone assured me they would make me comfortable and they did. I couldn't be any happier with the results. For the first time in nearly 60 years I can see without glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 05, 2019

Dr Swan and the Bozeman team were incredible for my PRK procedure. Very diligent, helpful, and professional. Plus the equipment was all state-of-the-art. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 28, 2019

Dr. Swan and the entire team assembled at Vance Thompson Vision are world class. Not only did the staff take the time to thoroughly educate me on the entire procedure, I have NEVER had a better patient care experience within any discipline of medicine. The providing team is just that incredible. I felt cared for, comfortable and completely confidant that Dr. Swan had my best interest and outcomes in mind. I had the Lasik procedure done and my outcome was truly flawless. Dr. Swan utilizes a completely bladeless procedure with the most up to date and wold class technology. Not to be undercut by his skill set, which is exceptional. On top of being a world class surgeon, Dr. Swan also walked me through each part of the procedure in a thoughtful and gentle way. The nursing staff, techs and assistants were all phenomenal. I really just can't quite put into words the incredible experience I have had at Vance Thompson. Bozeman is so lucky to have this level of expertise in town. I am so grateful and blessed by Dr. Swan and his team. Dr. Swan has given me an important piece of my life back and the freedom that comes from beautifully restored vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 22, 2019

Dr. Swan and the entire team assembled at Vance Thompson Vision are world class. Not only did the staff take the time to thoroughly educate me on the entire procedure, I have NEVER had a better patient care experience within any discipline of medicine. The providing team is just that incredible. I felt cared for, comfortable and completely confidant that Dr. Swan had my best interest and outcomes in mind.I had the Lasik procedure done and my outcome was truly flawless. Dr. Swan utilizes a completely bladeless procedure with the most up to date and wold class technology. Not to be undercut by his skill set, which is exceptional. On top of being a world class surgeon, Dr. Swan also walked me through each part of the procedure in a thoughtful and gentle way.The nursing staff, techs and assistants were all phenomenal. I really just can't quite put into words the incredible experience I have had at Vance Thompson. Bozeman is so lucky to have this level of expertise in town.I am so grateful and blessed by Dr. Swan and his team. Dr. Swan has given me an important piece of my life back and the freedom that comes from beautifully restored vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 14, 2019

The staff was amazing from the first phone call to surgery day. If you are considering laser eye surgery you don't need to look further: this is world class technology and customer service right in Bozeman. I had PRK on 1/24/19 with Dr. Swan which was a painless, simple and quick procedure (despite my fears of it). I had -5.25 with astigmatism in both eyes and could tell the vision improvement the same day, drove 5 days later and one week out had major improvement in vision. My aftercare doctor has mentioned how smooth my eyes are and how well they are healing due to Dr Swan's technique. [Tips for PRK: plan to spend 2-3 days relaxing in a dark room (audio books and black out curtains a must!), pain happens after surgery so take the Tylenol immediately to keep up on pain management, and keep up on the eyes drops] More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 09, 2017

My experience with Dr. Swan and his crew was amazing! From day one, they were professional while still being welcoming and caring. Dr. Swan is very knowledgeable and treated me individually based on MY case and MY needs. The pre and post LASIK appointments were thorough and I never felt rushed. Dr. Swan answered all of my questions and allayed any fears I had going into the surgery. I recommend Dr. Swan and Vance Thompson Vision to everyone! More