Patient Reviews

Our award-winning, fellowship-trained, board-certified ophthalmologist surgeon, Dr. Russell Swan wants to inspire your confidence in choosing Vance Thompson Vision for your eye care or sight-saving surgery. In this testimonial and review section, we hope you will take the time to read through our current and former patient reviews for Dr. Russell Swan before making your first consultation appointment. Learn more about cataract removal surgeries, LASIK vision correction, corneal implants, and glaucoma treatments from patients who had it performed at our facility in Bozeman, MT.

Filter8 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from L.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 25, 2020

I am incredibly nervous about being with any doctor. It is the level of a phobia. Two things really impressed me. First, the initial exam which was for cataracts to begin with but discovered a pterygium, was so thorough that I just relaxed and felt like I was in good hands. Also Madison Who was the person who took me through that exam was amazing. And I know she doesn't spell her name like that but that's what talk-to-text did. then dr. Swan treated me with the utmost respect even with the phobia I have. He never belittled in any way and I'm pretty sure he would have thought I was crazy for not wanting versed at all! But he never gave me that impression and he took me through to where I could do the procedure. He was so thorough and professional. And he was also kind. That is a combination you don't find always. Dr. Swan let me know pretty much everything that was going to go on and everything that would happen in the recovery. I appreciate that so much. I would recommend Vance Thompson and dr. Swan and dr. Whit to anybody. And my experience with front office staff and with the medical techs was beyond any expectation I have. Way Beyond. Again kind and thorough and fun. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 01, 2020

Dr. Swan and his office excel in professionalism and graciousness. Dr. Swan resolved an issue that had resulted from previous cataract surgery at another clinic in my town. I am grateful I traveled to Bozeman to seek out the best. Dr. Swan diagnosed and successfully treated my vision problem within one visit. As an RN, it is clear to me that I chose wisely in contacting Dr. Swan's office and highly recommend them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 15, 2019

I was a bit apprehensive about having cataract surgery but Dr. Swan and staff put me at ease from the moment I walked through their door. Each person I interacted with were professional and understanding of my apprehensions. Cataract surgery went very well and I am extremely pleased with the results. Highly recommend Dr. Swan. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 01, 2019

Dr swan, Kim, Susan and others were all amazing. Superior friendly & knowledgeable staff. Took me through the whole process guiding, answering any questions or concerns. Dr Swan put me right at ease from the moment he entered the exam room, greeted me with a firm handshake and welcoming smile. I was nervous about having cataract surgery because I hate anything in my eyes. Everyone assured me they would make me comfortable and they did. I couldn't be any happier with the results. For the first time in nearly 60 years I can see without glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 22, 2019

Dr swan, Kim, Susan and others were all amazing. Superior friendly & knowledgeable staff. Took me through the whole process guiding, answering any questions or concerns. Dr Swan put me right at ease from the moment he entered the exam room, greeted me with a firm handshake and welcoming smile. I was nervous about having cataract surgery because I hate anything in my eyes. Everyone assured me they would make me comfortable and they did. I couldn't be any happier with the results. For the first time in nearly 60 years I can see without glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 19, 2019

I was so pleased to meet with Dr. Russell Swan and his staff at Vance Thompson Vision. They were kind and competent with a good understanding of my disease which is glaucoma. I felt comfortable enough to go ahead and schedule a cataract surgery and I look forward to Dr. Swan’s care going forward. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 20, 2018

Great place to go for cataract surgery. They take the extra time to be sure you get the right lense for your eyes. Came out with perfect crystal clear vision. Dr. Swan is a rockstar. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 02, 2018

If you are considering cataract surgery, Dr. Swan and the staff at Vance Thompson Vision in Bozeman are the team you want in your corner. They are both knowledgeable and professional while still remaining personable, kind and compassionate. The office is equipped with the latest in advanced technology making the process easier and safer than ever. I felt taken care of from the moment I walked in the door. The staff, Briana in particular, and Dr. Swan, went over every aspect of the surgery with me. They answered all my questions, and spent a substantial amount of time examining me and reviewing the available options for my specific situation. I wholeheartedly recommend Dr. Swan an Vance Thompson Vision in Bozeman. More